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State Activities

lllinois

State Enacts Voluntary RPS

Acting on a proposal from Gov. Rod
Blagojevich, the ICC adopted a resolution
establishing a Sustainable Energy Plan for
the state, which includes portfolio standards
for renewable energy and energy efficiency.

The renewable portfolio standard (RPS) calls
for 2% of bundled retail load to be obtained
from renewable energy resources in 2007,
increasing 1% annually until reaching 8% in
2013. Three-quarters of the renewable
energy used to meet the RPS should come
from wind power and one-quarter from other
sources, such as solar and certain biomass
resources. The state will not implement a
renewable energy credit trading system.

The energy efficiency portfolio standard calls
for a 10% reduction in load growth in 2007-
2008, 15% reduction in 2009-2011, 20%
reduction in 2012-2014, and 25% reductionin
2015-2017.

Both the renewable and energy efficiency
standards are voluntary and subject to rate-
impact tests. For the RPS, the maximum
percentage increase in retail rates is capped
at 0.5% in any one year and 2% on a
cumulative basis. For the energy efficiency
standard, the maximum percentage rate
increase is 0.5% per year computed
separately for each rate class for which
demand response and energy efficiency
programs are available, and based on the
total annual bill for a typical customer within
the class.

ICC Contact:

Harry Stoller, 217-785-5278

lowa

State Agencies to Buy Renewable Energy
Governor Tom Vilsack issued an executive
order directing state agencies to obtain 10%
of their electricity from renewable energy
sources. According to the order, “agencies
may generate their own alternative energy or
may participate in their utility’s green power
purchase program, where available, to meet
this requirement.”

The order also calls for the agencies to
reduce their energy consumption by an
average of 15% by 2010, relative to 2000
levels, and to procure alternative or hybrid-
electric vehicles for 100% of their nonlaw-
enforcement light-duty fleet by 2010. In
addition, all state bulk purchases of diesel
fuel must contain 5% renewable content by
2007, increasing to 20% by 2010.

Maine

Solar Rebate Program Enacted

Gov. John Baldacci signed into law a bill to
provide rebates for qualifying solar thermal
and photovoltaic (PV) systems installed at
residences and businesses. PV systems are
eligible for a rebate of $3 per watt on the first
2,000 watts of installed capacity and $1 per
watt for the next 1,000 watts. Solar thermal
systems, for water or space heating, qualify
for a rebate of 25% of the system cost or
$1,250, whichever is less.

A total of $500,000 will be available each year
for the solar rebate program and will be
raised through a customer surcharge not to
exceed 0.005¢/kWh on electric bills. In each
fiscal year, 25% of the fund is to be allotted to
PV system rebates and 75% allotted to solar



thermal system rebates. The PUC has
initiated a rulemaking to develop the rules for
the rebate program, which will expire at the
end of 2008.

PUC Contact:

Denis Bergeron, (207) 287-1366

Massachusetts

State Won’t Meet RPS Requirement

The Division of Energy Resources (DOER)
issued a report documenting progress toward
meeting the state’s renewable portfolio
standard. Beginning in 2003, all retail electric
suppliers were required to obtain at least 1%
of their total sales to customers from
renewable energy sources, with the require-
ment increasing in 0.5% annual increments
until reaching 4% in 2009.

The report finds that although all suppliers
complied with the law in 2003, there will not
be enough renewable energy available to
meet the entire requirement of 1.5% of total
sales for 2004. Those suppliers that cannot
meet the requirement must make alternative
compliance payments (ACPs), which are
expected to raise $15 million, which will be
invested in new renewable energy projects to
increase available supplies. The ACP rate for
2004 is $51.41/MWh.

The DOER forecasts that the shortfall will be
temporary as the premium for renewable
electricity fostered by the Massachusetts
program and similar programs in other states
stimulates investments in new renewable
power sources.

DOER Contact:

Chris Goetcheus, (617) 973-8767

Michigan

PSC Approves Net Metering Program
The PSC approved an amended consensus
agreement that implements a voluntary
statewide net metering program for a
minimum of five years.

Under the agreement, net-metered
customers will be credited for net excess
generation (NEG) at the utility’s retail price of
generation. Any credits will be carried over

from month to month, limited to a 12 billing-
month cycle. At the end of each cycle,
cumulative NEG credits, if any, may be
retained by the utility and the customer’s
credit reset to zero. The value of any
generation credits retained by the utility will
be used to offset net metering program costs.

The PSC rejected a provision in the
agreement that would have required that
ownership of renewable energy certificates
associated with a customer’s generation be
transferred to the utility.

Eligible technologies include solar, wind,
geothermal, biomass (including waste-to-
energy and landfill gas), and hydroelectric
(less than 30kW in size). Both residential and
business customers are eligible for net
metering, subject to an overall limit of 0.1% of
the utility’s peak demand in the previous year.
PSC Contact:

Tom Stanton, (517) 241-6086

Montana

RPS Bill Becomes Law

Gov. Brian Schweitzer signed a bill requiring
each public utility operating in the state to
procure a minimum of 5% of its retail
electricity sales from eligible renewable
energy sources beginning in 2008, increasing
to 10% in 2010, and 15% in 2015 and
thereafter. At least 75 MW of capacity must
come from community renewable energy
projects.

Utilities may use renewable energy credits for
RPS compliance, but they may not resell
renewable energy credits and count the sold
credits toward meeting its RPS obligation, nor
may they apply credits sold to customers
through a voluntary green power program.

Utilities are required to enter into power-
purchase contracts for renewable energy with
a minimum duration of 10 years. Also, utilities
must pay a penalty of $10 per MWh of
shortfall, if they fail to meet the RPS in any
year and may not recover the penalty in
electricity rates.



Restructured utilities operating in the state
are relieved from the RPS obligation if the
cost of electricity from an eligible renewable
resource—including the cost of ancillary
services necessary to manage the trans-
mission grid and firm the resource—is greater
than the cost of power available from
nonrenewable suppliers. Other utilities are
relieved from the RPS obligation if the cost of
the renewable resource exceeds the cost of
power from other sources by more than 15%.

Nevada

Legislature Again Revises RPS Statute
Gov. Kenny Guinn signed a bill that revises
the state’s RPS law by lowering the near-term
portfolio requirement but raising the long-term
requirement and allowing energy efficiency
measures to meet up to one-quarter of the
standard in any one year.

The RPS is now set at 6% in 2005 and 2006,
increasing by 3% every two years until
reaching 20% in 2015 and thereafter. Not less
than 5% of the requirement must be met from
solar energy systems. To be eligible, energy
efficiency measures must be installed at a
retail customer’s location and the cost must
be directly reimbursed, in whole or in part, by
the utility.

Separately, the PUC opened a hearing into
the failure of the state’s two utilities, Nevada
Power and Sierra Pacific Power, to meet the
5% minimum RPS requirement for
2004—Sierra Pacific met the nonsolar
requirement but failed to meet the solar
requirement. The state RPS law allows the
PUC to exempt the utilities from compliance
if renewable energy supply is insufficient to
meet the standard. Both utilities were granted
exemptions from meeting the target in 2003.

The two utilities were ordered to develop a
compliance plan that outlines achievable
goals and milestones, addresses all identifi-
able barriers, and identifies possible solutions
to barriers that may prevent compliance with
the RPS.

PUC Contact:

Anne-Marie Bellard, (775) 687-6035

New Jersey
Statewide Green Power Program Okayed

The BPU approved a new voluntary program
that will give the state’s retail electricity
customers the option of signing up for “green
power” on their utility bills. Under the
statewide program, electric customers will be
able to subscribe to the program and select
from multiple green power products and
marketers without having to switch their
supplier.

The New Jersey Green Power Choice
Program will be the first statewide program of
its kind where multiple utilities and green
power marketers will join with the state to give
consumers access to the regional market for
renewable energy. Each customer who
decides to participate in the voluntary
program will pay an amount that is
determined by their mix of “green power”
selected from their power supplier. Green
power sold in the program must be sourced
from renewable energy that is not otherwise
used to meet a statutory requirement, such as
a renewable portfolio standard.

The BPU’s Office of Clean Energy will
oversee and administer the program and
ensure that relevant New Jersey consumer-
protection rules and procedures are followed.
The program will be available later this year
after the utility companies make the
necessary changes to their billing and
information systems.

Solar RECs System Operational

The nation’s first tracking and trading system
for solar renewable energy certificates
(SRECSs) is now operatingin New Jersey. The
system tracks and issues SRECs for solar
electricity production from “behind-the-meter”
distributed generation systems. Each SREC
represents one MWh of solar production.
Load-serving entities in New Jersey are
required to procure a certain percentage of
their electricity supply from solar
photovoltaics and demonstrate their
compliance through participation in the New
Jersey SREC Program.

BPU Contact:

Mike Winka, (609) 777-3312



North Dakota

New Laws Promote Wind Energy

Gov. John Hoeven signed into law a
comprehensive package of legislation
designed to accelerate production of wind
energy and biofuels, as well as enhance the
transmission infrastructure necessary to get
both renewable and conventional energy to
market.

New legislation creates an Office of
Renewable Energy within the Division of
Community Services at the North Dakota
Commerce Department. The new office will
assist in the development of renewable
energy within the state and promote energy
conservation in both the public and private
sectors. The office will administer programs
and advance information pertaining to state
and federal incentives available for the full
range of renewable energy sources.

Among the new laws designed to promote
wind energy development are:

* Creation of a North Dakota Transmission
Authority, which will promote new and
substantial investment in transmission
lines in North Dakota. (HB1169)

* A provision to allow the trading of
renewable energy credits to other states,
which will promote the development of
wind energy in North Dakota. (HB1314)

* A provision to raise the jurisdictional
threshold for siting electrical power
generation facilities from 50 MW to 100
MW, thus reducing the regulatory burden
for wind energy companies to site plants
in North Dakota. (HB1283)

* A reduction in the assessed value of a
wind turbine electric generation unit from
3% to 1.5% to promote the commence-
ment of construction on wind facilities
prior to July 1, 2006. (SB2018)

Texas

State Expands RPS Law

The legislature passed a bill that expands the
state’s existing RPS from 2,000 additional
MW in 2009 to 5,000 additional MW in 2015
(representing about 5% of the state’s
electricity supply) and sets a target of 10,000
MW of capacity installed by 2025. The bill

provides that 500 MW of generating capacity
be derived from nonwind renewable sources,
such as solar and biomass.

The legislation gives the PUC the authority to
order construction of new transmission lines
to meet the state renewables goal and to cap
the price of renewable energy credits and
suspend the RPS goal, if necessary to protect
the reliability and operation of the grid. The
PUC also will ensure that all renewable
energy capacity installed in the state and all
renewable energy credits awarded, produced,
procured, or sold from renewable capacity in
the state are counted toward meeting the
RPS goal. Gov. Rick Perry is expected to sign
the legislation.

Vermont

State Establishes Renewable Energy Goal
Gov. James Douglas signed into law a bill
establishing a renewable portfolio goal for the
state, which, if not met, will become a
mandatory renewable portfolio standard in
2013. The law encourages each retail
electricity provider to supply an amount of
new renewable energy equal to its total
incremental energy growth between 2005 and
2012. The amount of new renewable energy
that must be supplied is capped at 10% of a
provider’s total electricity sales in 2005.

New renewable energy is defined as energy
from eligible projects placed into service after
December 31, 2004. Incremental capacity
obtained from existing renewable energy
projects also meets the standard. Providers
can meet the requirement through eligible
new renewable energy credits, new
renewable energy resources with renewable
energy credits still attached, or a combination
of the two. Eligible generating facilities can be
located either inside or outside of the state.

The PSB is charged with developing the
regulations and procedures necessary to
implement the policy, including establishment
of a system of tradable renewable energy
credits “designed to be consistent with
regional practices.” The PSB is also charged
with ensuring that “providers disclose the
types of generation used and whether the
energy is Vermont-based, and shall clearly



distinguish between energy and tradeable
energy credits provided from renewable and
nonrenewable sources and existing and new
sources.”

In addition, the PSB is charged with
establishing a renewable energy fund that
would offer an alternative compliance
mechanism for providers to make an as yet
unspecified amount per kilowatt-hour
payment, in lieu of purchasing tradable
renewable energy credits.

Electricity providers can be relieved from the
portfolio responsibility if the PSB “determines
that compliance with the standard would
impair the provider's ability to meet the
public’'s need for energy services . . . at the
lowest present value life cycle cost, including
environmental and economic costs.”

PSB Contact:

Riley Allen, (802) 828-4053

Washington
State Adopts “Feed-in” Tariff System

Gov. Christine Gregoire signed two bills into
law that provide incentives for renewable-
energy manufacturing and deployment. The
firstlaw establishes a European-type “feed-in”
payment for “customer-generated electricity
renewable energy systems.” Homes and
businesses with solar PV, wind, and
anaerobic digester systems will receive a
payment from utilities of 15¢/kWh for
electricity generated by their renewable
energy systems, up to a total of $2,000
annually. Utilities are allowed to take a credit
against state taxes for the amount of the
payments provided. The payments are
available for a 10-year period beginning July
1, 2005, and ending June 30, 2014.

The production incentive couples economic
multipliers to increase the earned credit if the
solar or wind system components are manu-
factured in Washington State, which can
increase the 15¢/kWh payment to as much as
54¢/kWh. Customer generators retain the
rights to any environmental attributes
produced by their systems.

The second bill seeks to attract and retain
solar manufacturing by providing tax breaks
for solar-module and component manu-
facturers that currently reside in the state or
choose to relocate there.

Other Activities

PJM Launches GATS

PJM Interconnection—the regional trans-
mission organization that coordinates the
movement of wholesale electricity in all or
parts of 12 states and the District of
Columbia—announced the launch of the
Generation Attributes Tracking System or
GATS.

The GATS tracks generation attributes and
the ownership of the attributes as they are
traded or used to meet government
standards, such as renewables portfolio
standards or fuel-source disclosure reporting.

The GATS design was developed through
collaboration with state utility regulators, state
environmental protection offices, state energy
offices, consumer advocates, electric market
participants, environmental advocates, and
other stakeholders. The GATS system is
owned and administered by PJM
Environmental Information Services.

State Renewable Energy News is prepared for NARUC’s Committee on Energy Resources and the
Environment to promote the sharing of information on state-level renewable electric activities.

Internet links to the legislation, orders, decisions, and other documents referenced in this newsletter,
as well as past issues of this newsletter, can be found at: http://www.nrel.gov/analysis/sren.

Comments can be directed to Blair Swezey, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, at (303) 384-7455

or Blair Swezey@nrel.gov.
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